Richard Winn Academy honors students at Academic Banquet

Winners of the RWA Headmaster’s Award: Chrissy Caudill (eighth grade), Hannah Silvia (ninth grade), Alexa Karoly (10th grade) and Blake Little (11th Grade).

Students of Richard Winn Academy gathered for the annual academic banquet at White Oak Conference Center Aug. 27 to be recognized for their accomplishments during the 2011-2012 school year.

Richard Winn Academy awarded the Highest Average in each subject for the 2011-2012 academic year to the following students:

English Language Arts, seventh grade – Shelley Priddy; eighth grade – Chrissy Caudill and Perry Anne Robinson. English I College Prep(CP) – Erin Johnson. English I Honors (H) – Logan Robinson and Hannah Silvia. English II CP – Victoria Durham. English II H – Alexa Karoly. English III CP – Brittany Yongue. English III H – Blake Little. Seventh Grade Math/Pre-Algebra – Hunter Tate. Geometry CP – Blake Pauley. Geometry H – Hannah Silvia . Algebra I CP – Nikki Hood. Algebra I H – Chrissy Caudill and Jacob Steele. Algebra II CP – Victoria Durham and Ron Price. Algebra II H – Alexa Karoly. Algebra III H – CR Caudill and Blake Little. Life Science, seventh grade – Shelley Priddy. Earth Science, eighth grade – Chrissy Caudill. Biology I CP – Erin Johnson. Biology I H – Hannah Silvia. Biology II CP – Brian Steed. Biology II H – Sarah Coleman and Alexa Karoly. Chemistry CP – Ron Price. Chemistry H – Blake Little. U.S. History, seventh grade – Shelley Priddy. S.C. History, eighth grade – Meg Cathcart, Chrissy Caudill and Perry Anne Robinson. Geography CP – Mac McDonald. Geography H – Logan Robinson and Hannah Silvia. World History CP – Victoria Durham. World History H – Alexa Karoly. U.S. History CP – Kristin Irby. U.S. History AP – Blake Little. Spanish I CP– Ryane Railey. Spanish I H – Emily Brigman and Hannah Silvia. Spanish II CP – Victoria Durham. Spanish II H – Alexa Karoly. Spanish III H – Blake Little. Computer Science/App – Alexa Karoly, Hannah Silvia and Victoria Durham.

Richard Winn also awarded the Headmaster Award for the highest overall average for all classes for each grade. The Headmaster Award was presented to Shelley Priddy for the seventh grade, Chrissy Caudill for the eighth grade, Hannah Silvia for the ninth grade, Alexa Karoly for the 10th grade and Blake Little for the 11th grade.

Richard Winn Academy inducted 13 students into the Senior Beta Club and six students into the Junior Beta Club at the banquet. These students have achieved not only academically, but they also have good character, a genuine desire to serve others and they demonstrate strong leadership at school and in their community. The eighth grade student that was inducted into the Junior Beta Club was Tyler Douglas, and the ninth-grade students inducted were Meg Cathcart, Marion Walker Coleman, Gunnar Hensley, Jaycie Johnson and Noah Ward. Inducted into the Senior Beta Club were 10th-grade students Cassidy Branham, Emily Brigman, Cassie Rae Cantrell, Hunter Gibbons, Erin Johnson, Jordan Parris, Logan Robinson, Hannah Silvia, Jessie Stidham and Matt Taylor. Also inducted into the Senior Beta Club were 11th-grade students Austin Knox and Casey Self. Twelfth-grade student Kristen Irby was also inducted.

The following eighth-grade students scored at or above the 90th percentile on the subtests of the Stanford Achievement Test and were recommended by the Head of School. The George Grice Eighth Grade Scholar Award was presented to Chrissy Caudill, Chloe Dawkins, Nancy Blair Gonzalez, Perry Anne Robinson, Boyce Walters, Gunnar Hensley, Jonathan Lewis, Rob O’Connor, John Sandifer and Jacob Steele.

Bryant Carvalho, Tyler Douglas, Hunter Tate and Grace Wilder were presented with certificates for qualifying for the Duke University Seventh Grade Talent Search for 2011-2012.

Students that participated in the State Literary Meet for SCISA were presented with certificates for Outstanding Performance. The students that received these certificates were Meg Cathcart, Austin Costenbader, Gunnar Hensley, Perry Anne Robinson, Alex Scott, Jacob Steele, Anna Grey Walters and Boyce Walters.

The following students were named as 2011-2012 Junior Scholars: Blake Little, Codie Revis and Brittany Yongue were presented with the Converse Junior Scholar Award. CR Caudill and Blake Little were named as Lander University Junior Fellows. Blake Little and Brittany Yongue were named to the Columbia College Scholars Program. CR Caudill, Logan Gibbons, Blake Little, Codie Revis and David Walling were presented with the USC Union Junior Scholars of Excellence. CR Caudill, Logan Gibbons, Blake Little, Codie Revis and David Walling were named as USC-Upstate Junior Scholars. Blake Little was named as 2012 PC Fellow.

Speak Your Mind