Penny Tax Rep Applicants Narrowed to Three

BLYTHEWOOD – The subcommittee tasked with selecting a person to represent Blythewood on Richland County’s proposed 15-member Penny Tax oversight committee, has narrowed the field from seven to three: Bill Wiseman, Malcolm Gordge and Sean King. An alternate choice to be considered is Ronald Friday.

The committee made their selections from resumes only, without calling the applicants in for interviews. Mayor J. Michael Ross, who chairs the committee, said the committee will meet again on Jan. 15 at 6 p.m. at the Town Hall to interview the three finalists and make a final selection. The representative selected by the committee will be confirmed by Town Council before being recommended to the County Council for the 15-member oversight committee.

The oversight committee will include one representative from the incorporated towns of Eastover, Forest Acres, Arcadia Lakes, Irmo and Blythewood; three representatives from the City of Columbia and seven representatives selected by County Council from the unincorporated areas of the County.

Speak Your Mind