Eagles head to Final Four

SUMTER – First year Richard Winn varsity head coach Nick Chaisson made his playoff debut against St. John’ Christian, and his team showed up to play. Hudson Wade had 21 points, 16 boards and four steals in the Eagles’ 58-42 decimation of the Cavaliers. Darius Boyd had nine points, seven rebounds and four assists.

Hudson Wade (21) uses his length to hoist up the mid-range jumper. | Martha Ladd

The Eagles were left to face off with two-seeded Beaufort Academy in the second round. Beaufort took charge of the game early and doubled up Richard Winn in the first quarter. They knocked down a pair of threes and led 14-7 at the end of the first.

Darius Boyd had a pair of threes of his own in the second quarter, and Will Carvalho joined-in and knocked down a three also. The Eagles were unable to erase the whole deficit in the second quarter, but only trailed by two at halftime.

Boyd added two more trifectas to his stat sheet in the third quarter, and the Eagles seized the lead in the third. Boyd had nine of his game-high 21 points in the third quarter. Wade finished the night with 17, and Dawson Coleman led Beaufort with 16 points.

The Eagles only drained two of their six three throws in the fourth, but Dru Caldwell and Hudson each knocked down triples of their own to stave off Beaufort’s late-game comeback efforts. Jaylen Reeves had eight of his 15 points in the fourth. He finished second amongst Beaufort scorers.

The Eagles have a date with top-seeded Clarendon Hall in the semi- finals Thursday at 7:30 p.m. at Wilson Hall in Sumter.

 Richard Winn 58, St. Johns 42

RWA – 15-15-13-15 – 58

SJ – 4-12-9-17 – 42

RWA: Hudson Wade – 21, Dru Caldwell – 11, Darius Boyd – 9, Jimmy McKeown – 8, Will Carvalho – 7, John Russell – 2.

SJ: Nairyan Bookert – 12, Rochard Tingue – 8, Evan Mizzell – 6, Flether Law – 6, Dylan Parsons – 4, Corey Moreaux – 4, Collin Robertson – 2

 Richard Winn 52, Beaufort 29

RWA – 7-16-17-12-52

BA – 14-11-9-15-49

RWA: Darius Boyd – 21, Hudson Wade – 17, Dru Caldwell – 6, Jimmy McKeown – 3, Will Carvalho – 3, John Russel – 2.

BA: Dawson Coleman – 16, Jaylen Reeves – 15, Thomas Holladen – 7, Elijah Fess – 6, Jasean Lawson – 3, David Mathai – 2.

Speak Your Mind