WHS, BHS XC runners compete at State

BLYTHEWOOD – Though Westwood’s girls cross country team did not qualify to run in the SCHSL 4A State meet, Emma Ashley and Rebecca Ashley qualified to compete individually, and they did not disappoint.

Sophomore Emma Ashley finished in 5th place out of 116 runners, just under a minute behind first place finisher Caroline Lyerly of Greenville High School, who finished at 18:31.67. Emma’s 19:26.57 time in the meet bested her 17th place finish time of 20:12.52 at the 2021 state meet. Rebecca Ashley, a seventh grader, finished at 21:29.33 for 35th place overall.

Westwood’s boys pulled a 10th place finish out of the 16 teams who qualified for the 4A state meet. Greenville High School took first place.

William Tyndall finished first for Westwood and in 27th place overall with a time of 17:49.73. Aidan Keck followed closely at 17:51.11 for 30th place. Miguel Serra finished at 18:23.85, Joe Eberlin crossed the line at 18:39.68, and Jaylen Harkless finished at 19:27.24 to round out Redhawk scores. Sterling Robertson (23:35.14) also ran in the meet for Westwood.

Blythewood’s girls also pulled a 10th place finish out of 16 teams in the 5A meet. Lexington High School took home top honors.

Anna Kelly topped Bengal runners with a 20:30.41 finish for 30th place. Mallorie Hogue clocked a 20:44.60 (37th place). Eva Pendleton finished at 21:08.46, Kendall Shealy finished at 21:57.51, and Trystin Ratcliff finished with a time of 23:12.86. Annabelle Manville (23:42.76) and Brooke Barker (23:44.08) also ran in the meet.

Blythewood’s boys finished in 13th place. Jacob Powell was the top Bengal finisher at 16:53.96 for 29th place overall. Eureka Washington finished at 17:42.65, Spencer Shealy finished at 17:47.09, Tajma Lott clocked 19:13.01 and Jacob Copley finished at 19:16.47 to complete Blythewood’s scores. Austin Dwiggins was just out of Blythewood’s top five with a 19:20.16 finish. Karlin Hogue (20:05.63) also ran for Blythewood.

Contact us: (803) 767-5711 | P.O. Box 675, Blythewood, SC 29016 | [email protected]