Field for 2014 Races Fills Out

WINNSBORO – With filing for petition candidates officially closing last week, the field of candidates for the Nov. 4 general election is officially locked in. Petition signatures were verified this week by the Fairfield County Office of Elections and Voter Registration on all but one of the applicants. Although Carlton Williams, who had filed to run for the District 7 County Council seat, turned in enough signatures, Voter Registration said not enough of those signatures were from voters in District 7, eliminating Williams from the running.

With Williams out of the race, the petition candidates are:

County Council

District 1 incumbent Dwayne Perry faces a challenge on two fronts, from Daniel Walter Ruff III and Michael Squirewell. District 3 incumbent Mikel Trapp also faces a pair of challengers in Walter Larry Stewart and Tangee Brice Jacobs. District 5 incumbent and County Council Chairman David Ferguson Sr. faces two challengers as well in Marion Robinson and Eugene Holmes.

Four candidates are vying for the District 7 seat being vacated by a retiring David Brown, with William Bryan Smith Jr., David E. Brandenburg and Clyde Sanders all throwing their names into the ring.

School Board

District 1 incumbent Andrea T. Harrison faces the only challenge in this year’s School Board race with Marvin L. Robertson vying for her seat. District 3 incumbent Henry Miller and District 7 incumbent and Board Chairwoman Elizabeth R. Reid are unchallenged. Carl E. Jackson Jr. is also unchallenged in his bid for the District 5 seat being vacated by Bobby Cunningham.

Soil & Water Conservation District

Eric F. Cathcart is this year’s lone candidate for the Soil & Water Conservation District.

Contact us: (803) 767-5711 | P.O. Box 675, Blythewood, SC 29016 | [email protected]