Board’s Promise vote leaves some unfunded

Green: School Board will revote Promise funding issue next month WINNSBORO – All Fairfield County high school graduates are not currently able to receive free college tuition funds contributed by the Fairfield County School District as promised last summer under the newly minted Promise Program. A school board vote last week left Promise Program tuition […]

Ruling the Court

The Voice reached out to Fairfield Central and the Fairfield County School District for names but received no response.

WHS awarded national certification

BLYTHEWOOD – Westwood High School has been named a Nationally Certified Demonstration Magnet School, the highest level of distinction awarded by Magnet Schools of America. Westwood successfully met the Magnet School Standards of Excellence, which include innovative curriculum, instructional programs that promote choice, student equity and diversity, academic excellence, family and community engagement, professional development, […]

Head of the Class

WINNSBORO – The Fairfield Magnet School for Arts and Science students, at left earned three or more categories under ‘Exceeding Expectations’ on the state assessment that was administered last school year. Principal Gale Whitfield presented awards to the students pictured. The Voice requested names from the Fairfield County District Office but received no response.

BHS shines, WHS lags on SAT, AP

BLYTHEWOOD/WINNSBORO- The 2019 Blythewood High School SAT scores exceeded the state and national averages. Meantime, Westwood and Fairfield Central high schools reported significant declines in their SAT results, according to recently released data from the S.C. Department of Education. Blythewood High averaged 1,051, up slightly from 1,048, in 2018, with 350 students (72.5 percent) taking […]

Fall Festival at MSI

WINNSBORO – There were pumpkins, games, food, music and big toys at the first annual fall festival at the Midlands Stem Institute in Winnsboro. The weather was great and the crowd found lots of entertainment after school. MSI is a free public charter school and is located at 112 Crane Street in Winnsboro.

Fairfield Mathematicians

WINNSBORO – Six Fairfield County School District elementary students were honored at the FCSD school board meeting on Tuesday evening for earning perfect scores on the Math SC Ready assessment that was administered last year to all third through eighth graders. Those six students are, from left: Kinsley Green, Kirsha Patel, Parker Douglas, Keon Squirewell, […]

BHS Student Takes Top Prize

BLYTHEWOOD – Blythewood High School (BHS) senior Sophia Lynch was awarded top prize for her entry in Women’s History at the National History Day Contest in June 2019. Lynch, a member of the BHS Honors Forum, was the first BHS student to achieve the award at the national level. She competed at the regional and […]

District’s report card mixed

WINNSBORO – Fairfield County elementary students did well in classroom testing last school year, but successes didn’t carry forward into middle and high school scores. Fairfield Magnet School for Math & Science and Kelly Miller Elementary both received “Excellent” ratings, the highest possible on the 2019 South Carolina report cards, which were released last week. […]

Crowned at The Castle

BLYTHEWOOD -Westwood High School crowned Homecoming Queen Nyah Leveretter, left, and Homecoming King John Johnson last Friday at halftime of their South Pointe game. Shai’Qwetha Russell, center, was crowned Princess.