November Ballot Finalized

Council Chairwoman Bowing Out

WINNSBORO (July 21, 2016) – Filing closed last week for candidates seeking office in the Nov. 8 general election with a host of hopefuls throwing their hats into the ring for five County Council seats, while only one School Board member faces a challenge this fall.

Missing from the list of Council candidates, however, is the Chairwoman from District 2, Carolyn Robinson.

Robinson told The Voice this week that she made the decision not to seek a third consecutive term over the Christmas holiday last December.

“I have had a peace of mind since the first of the year about the whole thing,” Robinson said. “I have a lot of things going on in my life that no one knows about. It is time for me to put my family first. When they’re gone, they’re gone. Council will always be there.”

Robinson declined to go into specifics about the family matters that led her to her decision. She was first elected to Council in 1995, taking over the remaining two years on Norma Branham’s term after Branham became County Treasurer. She served through 2004, then spent the next four years on the sidelines before being elected again in 2008.

Lining up to take her District 2 spot are Jimmy Ray Douglas, of Old Chester Road; J. Renee Green, of Roller Coaster Road; and Clyde Wade, of Newberry Road.

Kamau Marcharia faces a two-person challenge for his District 4 seat, with Bertha Goins of Jenkinsville and Quincy D. Pringle Sr., of Estes Lane, Winnsboro, vying for the office.

District 6 incumbent Mary Lynn Kinley faces a three-person challenge from Gwen Harden, of W. Liberty Street; Cornelius Neil Robinson, of W. High Street; and Mary Anne Tolbert, of Cedar Street.

Three candidates filed for the District 3 seat being vacated by Walter Larry Stewart, who announced his resignation for health reasons last May. Looking to replace him are Kirk Chappell, of Jackson Creek Road; Peggy D. Swearingen, of Oakview Drive; and former Councilman Mikel R. Trapp Sr., who was defeated by Stewart in March 2015 after Stewart successfully protested Trapp’s narrow November 2014 win.

School Board

Annie McDaniel (District 4) and William Frick (District 6) are both running unopposed for their respective School Board seats. Incumbent Paula Hartman, however, faces a challenge for her District 2 seat from Dr. Janet Mason, of White Oak Church Road.


Contact us: (803) 767-5711 | P.O. Box 675, Blythewood, SC 29016 | [email protected]