Voters elect Franklin, Griffin

BLYTHEWOOD – Incumbent Larry Griffin and Planning Commission Chairman Bryan Franklin took top votes Tuesday night over two other Planning Commissioners, Donald Brock and Michelle Keidrowski, in the Blythewood municipal election to fill two seats on Town Council.


Griffin and Franklin, Blythewood natives, said they had support from friends as far back as grade school.

Both seats are for four-year terms. Franklin replaces Tom Utroska who retired after one term in office as he had said he would when he ran for office.

Griffin and Franklin both had their home precincts to thank for victory. Griffin, who lives on Langford Rd., but whose family roots run deep in the Boney Rd. area, took 99 of the 140 votes cast in Precinct 2 (Boney Rd and Lake Ashley).


Franklin, who lives in Ashley Oaks, drew 46 of the 78 votes in Precinct 1 (Ashley Oaks).

Cobblestone Park resident Courtney Leavitt, who dropped out of the race, received 16 votes.

Voter turnout this year was 299, five less than the 304 who turned out two years ago.

Griffin and Franklin will be sworn into office Nov. 27.

Final Vote Tally

Larry Griffin –  177
Bryan Franklin – 139
Donald Brock – 122
Michelle Kiedrowski – 57
Courtney Leavitt – 16
Write-ins – 2

Contact us: (803) 767-5711 | P.O. Box 675, Blythewood, SC 29016 | [email protected]