PruittHealth remembers loved ones

RIDGEWAY – Friends and family gathered for a memorial service at PruittHealth in Ridgeway last week.  A candle was lit to honor each of the residents and to celebrate the memory of those in Hospice care who passed away in 2017-2018.

Social Worker Myrtis White shared a prayer and music was provided by staff member Shanae Johnson.  The service was officiated by the Reverend Tammy Sowell.

Certified Nursing Assistant Shanae Johnson and Rev. Tammy Sowell. | Darlene Embleton

A long stemmed red rose was given to each of the friends and family in attendance by Carolyn Jessee, RN, Senior Care Partner with PruittHealth-Ridgeway.

“Raise that rose high,” shouted Reverend Sowell to the crowd.  “Raise it in celebration and remember the good times.”

“Amen,” the crowd shouted in return.

Those in the audience were encouraged to share memories when the name of their loved one was read.  Jannita Gaston, with tears on her cheeks, stood and declared that her mother, Clara Creswell, “is where she wanted to be…for she really loved the Lord.”

“Amen”, chimed the crowd.

“Don’t leave this room sad today,” Sowell entreated, “be happy, because they are in a better place.”

Songs were sung and tears were shed as those in attendance honored: Lucy Goodman, Joann Felder, Elizabeth Canty, Curtis Ferguson, Robert Eliasen, Martha Cook, Albert Belton, Virginia Shull, Eldred Pearson, James Knorr, David Sligh, Marcia Campbell, Ruby Galloway, Wardell Willingham, Helen Giovinazzi, Rockie Williams, Margie Gayden, Bobby Gause, Carrie Titus, James Peterson, Versena Dean, Julia Brunson, Linda Lewis, Willis Brown, Gladys Mickle, Rufus Woodard, Joyce Pethel, Arthur Beach, Thomas Easter, Fred Johnson, Pear Desilet, Bryan Crosby, Marjorie Johnson, William Manning, Sam Davis, Docia Mcgriff, Clara Creswell, John Byrd, Florine Brooks, Lula Bell, Thomas Castle, Rudolph Hardie, Martha Small, Debra Hingleton, David Bell, Dan Harrison, Jessie Foster, Leland Odom, Lillie Thompson, Jessie Jackson, Arthur Belton, Pauline Corba, Ben Skinner, Roy McWaters, Elbert Estes and Coleman Johnson.

Contact us: (803) 767-5711 | P.O. Box 675, Blythewood, SC 29016 | [email protected]