Council taps new board members

BLYTHEWOOD – Town Council approved three new appointees and re-appointed two others to the town’s boards and commissions on Monday night.


Mark Cruise, a resident of Cobblestone Park, was appointed to the Planning Commission. Cruise is a three-year resident of the town and is the owner of Governance4Good, a consulting firm for nonprofit organizations.

Cruise is an officer on the Blythewood Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and is a member of the Blythewood Rotary Club.

Because of a previous commitment in November, Cruise will not begin his term until Dec. 1.



Sloan Griffin III, also a resident of Cobblestone Park, was appointed to the Planning Commission. He said he moved to Blythewood a little over a year ago from the Greenville/Spartanburg area where his career was in fire service and emergency management.


Griffin is employed by the Department of Health and Environmental Control in emergency preparedness covering the PeeDee area.

“I thought I would jump in and help the town as much as I can with my knowledge and expertise,” Griffin said.


Alisha Coleman, a resident of Lake Ashley for the last four years, was appointed to the Board of Architectural Review. An architect, Coleman holds a master’s degree in architecture from Clemson University.

“Ms. Coleman has already done some work for the town,” Mayor J. Michael Ross said. “She created some conceptual drawings of our vision for the farmer’s market in Doko Park.”


Jim McLean, a resident on Sandfield Road, was re-appointed for another term on the Board of Architectural Review. A lifelong resident of the town, McLean has served on the Planning Commission and is a previous Council member. McLean serves as vice-chairman of the BAR.

Ray Fantone, a resident of Lake Ashley, was also re-appointed for a second term on the Board of Zoning Appeals.

Coleman, Griffin, Cruise, McLean and Fantone will take office Nov. 1. All appointments are for three year terms.

Contact us: (803) 767-5711 | P.O. Box 675, Blythewood, SC 29016 | [email protected]