Bengals get post-season awards

BLYTHEWOOD – Blythewood’s football team snagged top honors with the 5-0 undefeated region title earlier in November. Now, Blythewood’s players and coaches are racking up post-season honors.

Edward Robinson was named Region 3-5A Defensive Player of the Year. He amassed 115 tackles, 37 tackles for loss, 25 sacks, 29 pressures, 9 forced fumbles and 5 fumble recoveries.

Ryan Hart was named Special Teams Player of the Year. The senior was 10/12 with an 83 field goal percentage. He was 37/71 with a 90% PAT completion. Hart had 17 touchbacks.

Harrison Collins (QB), Anthony Thurman (TE/LB/DE), Jacob Gary (DB), Josh Gary (WR/RB), Keyshaun Philips (OL), Livingston Weisinger (LB), Deon Tyler (WR) and Tyler Grake (DB) were named to the All-Region Team.

Drayden Young (DB), Chris Thomas (WR) were given All Region Honorable Mention.

Head coach Jason Seidel was named Region 3-5A Coach of the Year. Seidel and staff helped the team to a 10-2 record this year following a 3-7 finish in 2021.

Contact us: (803) 767-5711 | P.O. Box 675, Blythewood, SC 29016 | [email protected]