Eight Bengals receive Student of the Year honors

From left: Madison Powell, Zavier Washington, Annabelle Manville, Addison Sussman, Chloe Kucia-Poirier, Jace Griffin, Jordan Garifalon and Eva Pendleton (not pictured)

BLYTHEWOOD – Blythewood High School held their Senior Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, May 21. Roughly seventy-five seniors were honored with various scholarships and awards.   One of the highest awards given is Student of the Year. 

The selection process for Student of the Year consists of a nomination by a staff member followed by a faculty and staff vote. House leadership teams review each nominee’s academic, discipline, leadership, extracurricular, and service during their time in high school. Each house awards two recipients. 

This year, the winners are 

Future Visions: Madison Powell and Zavier Washington

Blythewood By Design: Annabelle Manville and Addison Sussman

Global Society: Jace Griffin and Chloe Kucia-Poirier

Emerging Technology: Jordan Garifalon and Eva Pendleton

Along with their recognition during Awards Night, each students sat on stage at graduation on May 29, and they will have their names added to a banner that hangs in the school’s atrium alongside other students of the year.  

Contact us: (803) 767-5711 | P.O. Box 675, Blythewood, SC 29016 | [email protected]