Manning elected R2 board chair

COLUMBIA – The Richland School District Two Board of Trustees elected new officers Tuesday night, with the majority four voting as a block to seat three of their own.


James Manning was elected chair; Amelia McKie, vice-chair and former chair Teresa Holmes, secretary.

Board member Lindsay Agostini voted against McKie and abstained from voting for Manning and Holmes.

“Because of her continued ethics violations, I could not vote for Ms. McKie,” Agostini told The Voice.

Board member Dr. Monica Elkins Scott voted “No” for all three candidates, and LaShonda McFarland voted “Yes” for all three.

The three officers will serve four year terms. All three and Cheryl Caution-Parker are up for re-election in November.


  1. Why did The Core Four once again shut out the Minor Three for positions as officers of the Richland 2 Board? Manning, Holmes and McKie just played musical chairs on 6/28/2022. The tide will turn on Nov. 8th. There should be a new election then of Board Chair and Board Secretary, if even one new person joins the board. Richland 2 might begin following State law – S.C. Code of Laws Section 59-29-70.

Contact us: (803) 767-5711 | P.O. Box 675, Blythewood, SC 29016 | [email protected]